Prologue

March 20, 2007


My grandfather, bold, humble. He was a fighter, he fought the reaper till the end on that dreaded day… the day he passed; the day all his work was put to waste in the basement shelves. I was only seventeen, with but memories of his faded old face and the stories he used to tell.

I began taking intrest in his “legends” and studies. The soft red wood wit hthe cobwebs that held his dusty work became mine and that’s when my studdies began.

Rumaging through the papers, notes, books, letters… they had a certain feel to them. They made me think of the word “old” or “smudge”. The feel of dried mud and the smell of warm bust beaneath my nostrils. They made my fingers drylike the auburn wood they lay on. The inked words that scribbled across them reminded me of the stories he used to tell; the ones about Mt. Luna and the lost elven people.

The wonder and curiosidy about the lost civilization has snaged me just as it did my grandfather. I’ve been studying for years now, two to be exact.


I’ve read every passage, journal, book, and note about Mt. Luna. Little did I know there was one last drop of information left in this ole’ bottle of a house. It was a stormy night, the rain hit my roof like tiny sludge hammers. It wasn’t long until the ligtning knocked out my power. The darkness of the cold basment gave me a fright and I dropped my glasses behind the old auburn desk.

I jumped out of my seat and onto the floor reaching back and feeling the cold dusty concrete floor. Peices of sand and dirt collected on my hand, it felt lik eI was being tugged under by it. Suddenly the feel of dry mud and a deeling that starched my fingers slapped against my hand.

The lights popped on and I looked at the blurry image in front of me. Quickly, I snatched my glasses which were lying deadlike a foot away and threw them on.

The tattered peice of lost paper in my hand was a map… not just any map, a map to Mt. Luna. I was excited I jumped out of my seat and smiled at the peice of paper. I wondered though, why hadn’t my grandfather ran off in search of Mt. Luna if e had the map all along? I quickly ran up stairs leaving dusty foot prints on each step and packed up some clothes. My old blue pickup was out side and I made for it – in hope to find the lost city I’ve studied for years.

I’ve been driving for days now, probably gone over a thousand miles. The map was easy reading – it was like someone had taken notes and written them down. The road was bumpy and falling apart – I could tell I was getting close and I hoped to see ruins.


But I could see somthing bright off in the distance, I couldn’t tell what it was until I got near it. Strangely it was a blocked off area. It was old and untouched. I hopped out of my car to have a closer look.

Having seen the dusty warning signs I knew I was close. I could smell the crisp forrest and the magic of the montain and it’s mysterious wonders. I could taste the air, it was like no other… a sense of pride in the air and I glanced at the old wooden sign reading “WARNING. GO BACK. BEWARE.” Should I climb over and make what seemed to be a very long walk through a deserted road or leave all my dreams behind… I began to climb over the blockage.
TO BE CONTINUED

Leave a comment